Friday, December 04, 2009

Let the games begin

All fifty-one teams paraded into the Linx arena at a colourful opening ceremony for the Le Gruyere European Curling Championships this evening.

The VIPs were there. L-R: Kay Gibb (RCCC Ladies Branch), Bill Marshall (RCCC), Phillipe Gremaut (representing sponsor Le Gruyere AOC), Andrew Ferguson-Smith (President ECF), Lord Provost Peter Stephen, George Esson (Chairman LOC).

Teams and spectators made quite a sight!

I don't have favourite teams!

The event has received a great deal of support from Aberdeen City Council, and Lord Provost Peter Stephen welcomed players, officials and fans.

Grampian Police pipe band entertained.

It wasn't quite the team that won the European Championships way back in 1980, but it was pretty close. Barton Henderson, Roy Henderson, Alastair Sinclair and Billy Henderson paraded in the event flag.

Which was raised by George Stevenson... the cheers of the crowd!

Barton Henderson threw the first stone...

.... to Sandy Anderson's brush. It was ably swept by Laura Morris and Lewis Houston, but it finished up three feet short.

Actually, like many things on this blog, that was not true! It would probably have been a first. No, it finished right on the button, as always, and the competition is underway!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.